New law requires MA establishments to carry liquor liability insurance

All establishments serving alcohol must be aware of a newly-enacted law mandating that all liquor licensees provide proof of Liquor Liability coverage with their local licensing authority when applying for or renewing a liquor license. The minimum coverage limit is $250,000 per person and $500,000 per occurrence, and takes effect on August 28, 2010. The insurance is intended to address the situation where a customers was over-served alcohol, and then left the facility and caused injury to someone else while intoxicated.

Chapter 116 of the Acts of 2010 amends Mass. G. L. Chapter 138 Sec. 12, the law in Massachusetts that governs issuance of liquor licenses.

« Back to Our Blog and Resource Center – Boston Injury & Massachusetts Employment Law

Can We Help You?

Call 617.559.1530 or complete the form below.

By submitting this form, Fogelman Law will take no action on your behalf. Submission of this form does not establish an attorney-client relationship.